add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Help with a simple question

Nowl317
  • 14 days ago

I’m very new to the tech world and am building a new pc along with it I was wondering if I needed to install any other software besides windows 10 home. Previously I was under the impression that I needed to install adobe player(dating myself lol) but I wanted to ask if there was anything like that that I might need to download and what is recommended as safe. All advice is welcome and appreciated!!!

Comments

• 14 days ago
  • 1 point

Depends on what your usage needs are. Do you live stream your gaming sessions? Do you do any photo or video editing? Do you burn music onto CDs? Are you an author?

Windows 10 gets you up and running but it does not include any extras such as Microsoft Excel, Powerpoint, or Word. Those are all annual paid subscriptions. Windows Defender is included and good enough for most people, while others prefer something more robust. And if you want to browse the web more anonymously then there's also consideration for a VPN, or Virtual Private Network.

• 14 days ago
  • 1 point

I’m not a streamer like most people on this site unfortunately. My build is for an at home office. I’m honestly just looking for a bit of guidance and advice when it comes to what’s safe/reliable. I will probably be running mostly Microsoft home office products excel,outlook, and PowerPoint etc. with some light videos in the background along with the occasional game here and there. Can’t really see myself gaming too much nowadays. Thanks for any help!!!

• 14 days ago
  • 1 point