add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Help for getting the best out of my 980 ti

Pwnguino

1 month ago

I recently snagged a 980 ti golden edition for $150 dollars and am looking to get a new psu and cpu to go with it to maximize its performance and maybe even overclock (even though I have no experience with overclocking at all). This is my current build that im planning to put the 980 ti into. Im also looking to buy used parts on ebay to save a bit and im looking to spend less than 200. Ive been looking at this cpu and this psu. Any help or suggestions at all are appreciated.

Comments

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point

CPU looks OK, but the PSU should be swapped out (that unit doesn't have the best reviews)

https://pcpartpicker.com/product/CZvZxr/bitfenix-whisper-m-550w-80-gold-certified-fully-modular-atx-power-supply-bp-wg550umag-7fm

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point

Weird, i always had the mindset that my cpu was heavily bottlenecking the rest of my system

• 24 days ago
  • 1 point

The i3 6100 is not an amazing CPU. But it's OK. It was actually released after the 980 ti. And will run most things fine. The only "issue" is most people in the market for an i3 6100 in 2015 weren't in the market for an 980 ti. And then from that we get all sorts of ideas about there must be bottlenecks... it must be horrible, etc. It's not. And someone basically saying "a better system would be better" is really just stating the obvious and really just avoids addressing the issue, "Will you get decent performance with that combination?"