add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Ubuntu disk partitioning

tmarkus11

1 month ago

Hi everyone, here a new Linux user.

I have bought a new laptop (Asus 15 S512DA-BR097 - with AMD R5 3500U CPU, 8Gb DDR4 RAM and 256Gb SSD) and I have decided to install Ubuntu 18.04 in it, the computer comes with no SO. Since I am new to Linux and I don't know if I will want to change the distro in a future, I want to make the partition myself in order to have a boot, a swap and a home partitions (Ubuntu by itself does only generate swap and everything else is boot if I am not wrong, so changing distro would mean having to delete all my documents too, not only the distro).

My question is: which sizes should each partition be? I have been doing some research and there is no consensus, some people recommend at least 8Gb for boot, others at least 15Gb... The same happens with the swap, some recommend a third of the RAM, others twice the size of the RAM... So I had thought about using 25Gb for boot to avoid full disk problems, around 16 for swap (maybe too much, I doubt a lot) and the remaining space for home (around 200Gb), what do you think, am I loosing too much space on swap or boot? should I make them bigger instead?

Thank you very much to anyone answering :)

Comments

• 1 month ago
  • 3 points