add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Ethernet Cable is in but there is no wifi

Oscar_Deane

4 months ago

Just finished my pc build (I'm pretty new to this), and I went to connect it to the internet via ethernet cable. It just says that nothing is attached and that it can't connect to the internet. My motherboard is the MSI - B450M GAMING PLUS Micro ATX AM4 Motherboard, my cpu is the AMD - Ryzen 5 2600 3.4 GHz 6-Core Processor, and I'm on windows 10 Home. Thanks for the help -Oscar

Comments

• 4 months ago
  • 2 points

First of all, wi-fi and internet are not synonymous.

As xbiker12 mentioned, you are likely lacking the proper drivers for the ethernet device. Your motherboard should come with a CD that contains the drivers. If you do not have an optical drive, see if you can use a different internet connected device to download the drivers from the manufacturer's website and then transfer them to your new computer.

• 4 months ago
  • 1 point

ok so I downloaded the drivers. It still won't connect to the internet. I have the ethernet cable in and I'm sure that it works for other devices like my xbox. Got any suggestions of what to do next?

• 4 months ago
  • 1 point

I'm not sure what your specific situation is, but you likely have to associate the driver to the hardware, especially since you proclaimed to have merely "downloaded" the drivers rather than "installed" them. I also have little idea how experienced you are, so I will go through every step.