PCPartPicker

• Register

Where's a good place to start for painting a keyboard?

Forum Search

Guidelines

• Be respectful to others
  • No spam
  • No NSFW content
  • No piracy or key resellers
  • No link shorteners
  • Offensive content will be removed

Topic

Volpix 1 month ago

I'm trying to get as many opinions in as I can because this is my first time looking at painting something like a keyboard.

My keyboard, the SteelSeries Apex 150, comes in only a black variant- which is what I have. I'm looking at painting it with a very clean and simple just white colour, almost like a matte white.

Where would be a good place to start looking for proper paints like this for keyboards?

Comments Sorted by:

tinalbatross 2 points 28 days ago

Black to white is hard to do, and you're going to want a paint with real heavy coverage, or even an appropriate acrylic primer. I'd actually start by looking at a craft store like A.C. Moore.

The other suggestion I'd have would be to start by picking up a couple cheapo keyboards if you don't already have them and doing some science. They certainly won't type the same, but they're still plastic, so you can do coverage and wear tests with the not nice keyboards before committing to a plan.

Volpix submitter 1 point 28 days ago

Thanks for the idea, that's actually a really useful concept I hadn't thought of.

bucketofcrud12 2 Builds 1 point 1 month ago