add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Is 450W PSU good enough for my build?

ReverseFlash

22 months ago

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/fTYQV6

Because this is my first build idk about any overclocking yet but the PSU that I purchased is a little above 50W more than the Estimated is that good enough? or do I need more Watts

Comments

• 22 months ago
  • 1 point

You have more than enough room. This build will only draw 250-300 watts.

• 22 months ago
  • 1 point

Its plenty of power. PCPP always over estimates. You would be lucky to break the 300W mark.

• 22 months ago
  • 0 points

probably not. Leave at least 100 watts of head room. Go with a 650 watt psu if you want to be safe.

• 22 months ago
  • 1 point

And Btw thx so much for responding!

• 22 months ago
  • 1 point

It’s more than enough. PCPP calculator way overestimate wattage requirements. It’ll draw more like 250-300 watts under heavy loads.

As for the 100 watt headroom, a good PSU can handle any load 24/7 without fault within its warranty period. So unless your build is truely drawing 400 watts on a 450 watt PSU and you intend to overclock, then yes, up it to a 550 watt.

• 22 months ago
  • 1 point

Yeah im getting a 240mm radiator for CPU cooler and considering that ill probably overclock so ill probably bump it up. thx for response!

• 22 months ago
  • 1 point

Actually, since your build only draws around 300 watts and that Ryzen is efficient, you still won’t need more than a 450 unit.