• Be respectful to others
  • No spam
  • No NSFW content
  • No piracy or key resellers
  • No link shorteners
  • Offensive content will be removed

Topic

SubNauticaWaterWorld47 13 months ago

I have heard from a couple youtubers I watch that when a CPU runs cooler it requires less voltage to run at a given frequency. Is this true and if so why is this?

Comments Sorted by:

mysticial 6 Builds 5 points 13 months ago

All the answers here so far are getting the cause-and-effect backwards. Yes, higher voltages will cause higher temperatures. But the question is whether a lower temperature will require less voltage to be stable.

I'm not an expert in this area, but I believe the physics behind this is the Temperature Coefficient.

The resistance for most materials increases with temperature. The notable exception here are semiconductors like silicon. Though it isn't the only component in the chip. (again, I'm unsure of the details)

The higher the resistance, the higher the leakage and the harder it is to transmit power to all the components on the chip. Therefore a higher voltage is needed to "force it through". Lower temperatures result in lower resistance thereby making it more stable. When you're near absolute zero you reach superconductivity.

However, the differences here are unlikely to be observable with a mere 10 - 20C difference in temperature. But it does matter if you're comparing air cooling (60 - 80C) vs. liquid nitrogen (< -100C) and even helium (< -200C).

If lower temperatures didn't increase stability, there would be no point to using helium at all since nitrogen is already overkill as far as keeping the chip from overheating.

This is separate from the so called, "cold bug" that the LN2 people run into a lot.

SubNauticaWaterWorld47 submitter 1 point 13 months ago

I think this is what I was looking for but wasn't sure how to phrase it. Thanks!

Allan_M_Systems 1 point 13 months ago

bingo.

Radox-0 5 Builds 2 points 13 months ago