add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Case Modding - So you want to Cut your Case

Wolfemane

32 months ago

Since posting my current build Node Way!, I've received a number of questions regarding how I went about doing this case mod. I've answered each to the best of my ability. After answering a handful I thought maybe it would be a good idea to do a little write up here on the process I use to mod my cases. I'm by no means a professional (don't even consider myself an amateur!), and non of what's below are set in stone methods of modding. There may be things I do that go well beyond (or against) what real professionals do, these are just basic steps that work for me.

SAFETY FIRST

Before doing anything, make sure you have a proper work area with the proper safety gear available. A well ventilated area to work is ideal (I work in my garage), safety glasses, and a face mask are a must. There will be lots of debris flying around and the last thing you want is something flying in your eyes or to be inhaled. I also recommend some kind of arm protection and mechanics gloves. I've had the hairs of my arm burned a little from flying sparks.

Next you need the right tools. I've used the following items in almost every case mode I've done: