• Be respectful to others
  • No spam
  • No NSFW content
  • No piracy or key resellers
  • No link shorteners
  • Offensive content will be removed

Topic

DesiMated 2 months ago

So I'm new to this computer stuff and I was wondering which makes a hard drive load data fast?

Comments Sorted by:

Jeff_M 1 point 2 months ago

I'm not sure I understand the question. Do you mean how to prevent system lag or something? SSDs are leaps and bounds ahead of HDDs in terms of speed, so a very common configuration is to have a smaller (usually 250-500GB) SSD as the boot drive with the OS and most used applications and games on it, and a larger HDD for bulk storage that doesn't need to be accessed as frequently.

How quickly an application or data loads from a drive depends largely on what the application or data is. If your computer is bogged down with tons of processes, bloatware, or viruses that are eating up resources, things will generally run slow.

DesiMated submitter 1 point 2 months ago

ohh ok i get it, it just confused me because people that rated the hard drives said things about loading data slow

Jeff_M 1 point 2 months ago

Gotcha. Well HDDs do have different speeds, the most common consumer drives today run between 5400rpm and 7200rpm. Generally you find the slower speed drives applied to things like surveillance systems, where the data doesn't need to be accessed frequently so the slower speed isn't an issue and it's a bit cheaper.

Obviously if cost is a concern and you need a large amount of storage, a 5400rpm drive will work just fine, it'll just be a bit slower at sending data.

DesiMated submitter 1 point 2 months ago

got it thanks!

Crazyfool 1 point 2 months ago

There are usually two things to consider when talking about speed. The first being how fast it can move data at a 'sustained' rate. The second is how fast it can respond or how much latency. Just like your internet speed, one is the delay in response, the other is how fast it can push data.