add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Comments (Continued)

• 22 months ago
  • 2 points

Much easier to implement from a programmer's perspective

How so? (I work as a software engineer.)

words are more descriptive than numbers

True.

On the other hand the only way I see this is that the post would look like this:

Person A: funny 1, useful 3, not useful 1
    I love the green theme of the build as it reminds me of poison.

Or if someone aggregates useful and not useful to display only what is more, than we're back to +1 / -1 really, just a text is displayed instead.

Furthermore, this does not help the original issue, that people upvote themselves.

• 22 months ago
  • 1 point

I understand your point of view Shakaron, I didn't put much time into that comment, then I would say completely remove the unuseful button so that no one can get downvote spammed which is a problem too, Im not too sure though what to think about people upvoting themselves and how to prevent it.

• 22 months ago
  • 1 point

I guess logging who up/downvoted someone is a good idea, as it "exposes" them so people would probably consider whether they would do such actions.

If person A is always upvoted by person B, then it is a "strange coincidence", and the moderators could look into the logs and see if person A and person B are from the same IP thus, probably the same person. Also, there are other certain signs when an account is a real account or kept for some shady reasons. :)

Of course, this puts more work on the moderators, but knowing who did the vote can help start the right investigation.